top of page

Mommy Musthaves - Comfy Pants with Pockets


I know this may seem like a silly thing for a psychologist to talk about, but when you have kids sometimes the smallest detail, like being able to carry necessities in your pockets, are important.

For example, I often get parents who are completely confused about why their child is grumpy. I always say, start with the basic needs and work your way up. Hungry! Food! Thirst! These are basic needs that Abraham Maslow (Psychological Review, 1943) described in his description of the man's hierarchy of needs. When these basic needs aren't met, we can't function. I totally get this. My husband regularly makes fun of me for being irritable when hungry as he says I'm like a kid. But I can't help it! When I'm hungry, probably just like your little one, I am in a bad mood and yes, everything bothers me. Or when my basic needs aren't met, I feel lost, irritable, angry, worried. So something as small as pockets can be a life saver. Yes, I can carry a purse or a diaper bag, but sometimes lugging another bag around while trying to carry my baby in and out of the car, running around after her at story time, and chasing her up and down the stairs at home, is way too exhausting to add another bag or heavy object.

So pockets are essential for a mom in order to meet those basic needs to carry snacks in like cuties, string cheese, a few crackers... don't worry, most crumbs will wash right out. And if I can hand my child a snack and put the trash in my pocket until I find a trash-can later, I feel like a proud mom. Something about feeding your kid and not making everything a huge deal feels like an accomplishment as a mom.

Additionally, I use these big pockets for mommy essentials, or my other basic necessities, like my phone, my lifeline, my child's entertainment. Yes, I know, no electronics for kids, but you can always listen to music and have a dance party with the phone if you shouldn't give more electronic time. Did I also mention that I use these pockets for vitamins, cough-drops, extra diaper, you name it, my big pockets are great for me as I carry my baby around.

And what if you have a child with special needs or a mental health issue? Children with Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD), especially a child that is hyperactive, need to be occupied when they are small until you can teach them to occupy themselves in a safe and quiet way. It is important to have something to keep their minds and hands busy in an appropriate way, such as by carrying a snack, a fidget spinner, yoyo, you name it. When we tote our children around with us, there are always moments of waiting, and having something small in your pockets to entertain them is a genius proud mommy moment.

Lastly, these are loose and comfy. With children, especially younger ones, you are constantly running around after them; i.e. rolling on the ground, grabbing objects off the floor, crawling into some hidden space to get a ball or stuffed animal. So the clothes I wear have to move with me!

Now these particular pants that I am reviewing are from TJ max. I believe they were around $25 and they only had a size large, so that is the size I am wearing even though I'm typically a small. No biggie. I like them because they are loose and I don't feel self-conscious in them. Also, they kind of have this tie-dye effect which is great for hiding any stains or mess, and no, the mess is not all from me. Lastly, the material is pretty thin and airy. Living in southern California means wearing summer clothes all year and just layering; these fit the weather perfectly. Lastly, when wearing lose pants make sure you pair it with a tighter fitting shirt. Otherwise you'll look like you have no shape. I like to dress up my look with jewelry (mostly from charming charlie) and comfy sandals. I like buying jewelry at charming charlie because they have tons of options, but organize the store by color. Also, they have matching sets of jewelry so for those that don't know what to buy or what goes together, there is less to worry about. I have tons more of these style of pants, but here is just a quick example. Message me for more info or thoughts!

Thanks for reading!

Lose Comfy Pants with Pockets

References:

Maslow, A. H. (1943). A Theory of Human Motivation. Psychological Review, 50(4), pp. 370-96.​

Outfit:

Shirt: Zara

Jewelry: Charming Charlie

Pants: TJ MAX

Black Flat Shoes: Target

Black Sandals: Off Broadway (Michael Kors)

bottom of page